Skip to content

Édifice FTQ Building

January 28, 2014

Édifice FTQ Building

This is the building that houses the FTQ which is in the news these days for not all the good reasons. I was unable to find out who is the author of the sculpture in front since parking was prohibited. The sculpture’s metallic shine on a cold day is what arrested me today to paint it. However, after circulating around the block a couple of times in order to find a legal parking spot I took a risk and parked anyway keeping an eye in my rear view mirror in case a constable approached to hand me a no parking ticket. I had time to draw the scene in pen but I knew that I would not be able to concentrate on both the painting and the soon to arrive constable.  So I chickened out and came home to my studio to add color using memory and a photo from my I-phone. It’s not quite a true on site painting. Is that cheating? Possibly not as much as what has gone on inside the building in the past…Or present?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

