Skip to content

Parc-MacKenzie-King Park

January 23, 2014

Parc-MacKenzie-King

It was a beautiful sunny day to paint plein air today – from inside looking out, of course. My smartphone told me it was minus 16 degrees Celcius. Add the wind factor…When I discovered this scene not far from the Côte-Sainte-Catherine Metro station ( Wanting to sketch it as part of my Metro series) I had difficulty finding a place to park. Once I did find a free spot I could not see the focal point, the Saint-Joseph Oratory. So, putting on my mini gloves, which permit me to be able to sketch in the cold, I stepped out of my car with sketch book and pen in hand to get to the correct vantage place. I just had enough time to draw the main contour lines and memorize the values when I thought it would be a good idea to snap a cell phone picture. Error! By then I had been outside ten minutes or so and discovered then that one cannot unlock a smart phone by stroking it with gloves. Off came the gloves. Ahh, frozen finger syndrome! Retiring to the car, heater on full blast, fingers thawed out, I painted the scene. There must be an easier way to paint in winter. From a photo only …in one’s warm studio…nah…too simple!

C’était une journée ensoleillée. Je voulais peindre une scène à partir de mon auto. Il faisait moins 16 dégrés Celcius sans compter le froid du vent. J’ai eu de la difficulté à trouver un endroit pour de me stationner lorsque j’ai découvert cette vue non loin de la station Métro Côte-Sainte-Catherine. Ceci ferait partie de ma série d’aquarelles peintes près des bouches de Métro. Donc, je trouve un stationnement. Mais, je ne voyais plus l’Oratoire, le centre d’intérêt. Je sors de l’auto,  je mets mes petits gants, j’apporte un stylo et un carnet. Je trace les contours principales debout au froid. Je réalise soudainement après dix minutes que mes doigts sont gelés. J’opte pour prendre une photo lorsque je realise qu’on doit enlever ses gants si on veut déclancher la function du telephone/caméra. Ahh….je me précipite en douleur vers mon auto, démarre la chaleur, réchaufe mes mains et termine l’aquarelle au quasi-chaud. Il doit y avoir une meilleure façon de peindre en hiver… à partir uniquement d’une photo peut-être?…à la chaleur d’un studio …ah non…trop simple…pas de défi!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

