Skip to content

Early registration discount for Jan class ends Wed, Nov 13

November 11, 2013

Just a note – early registration discounts for my 10 week watercolor class at Syn Studio (starting Jan 21) are ending this week (wed 13). If you know anyone interested in a studio watercolor class (not Urban Sketching, but training for it :)ย  send them the link : http://synstudio.ca/expressive-watercolour/.

We’ll be focusing on quick sketching in watercolor, emphasizing good drawing and expressive (calligraphic) brushwork.

SynPlug

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina B. permalink
    November 11, 2013 12:01 pm

    Please stop tempting me! I might move to Montreal just so I could take your course!

  2. Michelle N. permalink
    November 11, 2013 12:26 pm

    Hello Marc,
    Although I have completed a visual arts certificate (30 credits) at UQAM, I do not consider myself skilled at drawing. Still, I am very much drawn (ha! no pun intended!) to your work, following your posts on the Urban Sketchers blog and keep intending to one day joining your Sunday Sketching meetup.
    Must one be skilled at sketching? and more importantly, must one take the “Drawing from Life” course before registering to yours? I ask as it states that this is an intermediate level course and that this beginner course is a prerequisite.
    Thanks!

    • November 11, 2013 12:55 pm

      Hi Michelle: Yes, please do come out to a USK meetup – they are just for fun, you;ll meet a lot of great people!

      RE: the drawing requirement – I’m not strict about it, but I will say, the more articulate your drawing, the better results you will get with my approach. It’s very much based on working from the drawing up. So if you’re happy with your drawing, that’s all we really need. The idea of ‘advanced’ classes requiring the life drawing unit first is something the school does, well honestly, to sell more classes๐Ÿ™‚ but also so that students are not traumatically frustrated if they can’t keep up with the class. We don’t want anyone having a bad experience. If you’re confident with your drawing, I’m sure you could skip the prerequisite. I’m not sure if there is a way to include a note with your registration online to that you want ‘advanced’ entry, and you’ve checked with me? You could always phone the school to sign up, that works too๐Ÿ™‚ Hope to see you in class if not before!

Leave a Reply

