Skip to content

St Patrick’s Parade Sketching

March 17, 2013

It was a chilly -5°C for today’s St Paddy’s parade, but I was joined by two brave urban sketchers, Julia Bolchakova and Nathalie Zinger, for some sketching.

We met at Phillip’s Square and watched as the crowd started to gather. I sketched the people along the gates in front of the Hudson’s Bay.

NathalieZinger1

Nathalie also sketched the crowd with the Christchurch Cathedral in the distance – a great backdrop to her sketch.

NathalieZinger2

I love this sketch of Nathalie’s of parade goers “chillin” along the route.

At the start of the parade, we got a sunny spot. I rushed to capture St Patrick and some bag pippers. At 5-foot 3-inches, it’s tough to get a good view. But I did manage to get Nathalie in my sketch!

NathalieZinger3

Here is a montage that Nathalie did of some of the parade.

JuliaBolchakova1 JuliaBolchakova2 JuliaBolchakova3 JuliaBolchakova4

During all of this, Julia got busy capturing all the different characters as they walked by. I love those touches of colour!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2013 9:17 pm

    These are so great. I wish I could have joined you. You are so brave because it was cold out there. Hope someone offered you some Irish coffee!!

    • March 18, 2013 7:25 pm

      Thanks Shari!! No one offered us coffee but the guy next to me was offering his girlfriend some TimBits – I almost reached into the box and helped myself!

Leave a Reply

