Skip to content

Sketchcrawling too

January 20, 2013

Just like other urban sketchers, I too drew the view of the Mary, Queen of the World cathedral in the morning from the 1000 de la Gauchetière atrium. Upstairs, they have a great view of the church from their windows.

In the afternoon, I decided to get a view from the inside. Rather daunting at first, with all the detail and the vaulted ceilings. But working down one level at a time, I managed to get it all on the page.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2013 3:52 pm

    HI Jennifer,
    Welcome to the group! Beautiful work and the inside of the Cathedral must have taken alot of courage to undertake it😉

  2. January 21, 2013 7:14 am

    Welcome Jen! Beautiful sketches!!

  3. January 21, 2013 1:01 pm

    Great sketches Jennifer, you did a better job than I did of the interior, once, as like you I was overwhelmed by the complexity, and also a church service started as I was working so I abandoned the drawing. Now, you have motivated to go back and try again, thanks.

    • January 21, 2013 6:18 pm

      Thanks Ray! And welcome to the blog – I am so happy that I’ll be able to see more of your sketches here.

      Yes, I can imagine that if there had been a service, that would have been just too much to take in. Fortunately, I had perfect conditions for concentration!

  4. January 22, 2013 9:35 am

    Hey, welcome to the blog Jennifer! When we were sketching Marie Rienne that morning, a couple from Italy stopped by to look at the drawings. We had a funny conversation about how our cathedral is a scale model of St. Peters. Isn’t it hard to imagine, drawing that huge interior, what it would be like 4 times larger!

    • January 22, 2013 3:22 pm

      I was in St-Peter’s about a year or so ago, yes overwhelming, but difficult to draw there because of the huge crowds, better in Montreal. You can see more of my Cathedral watercolors in either of my two books, available at book stores, Renaud-Bray mostly, Carnets de Montréal de A à Z en mots et en images, and Carnets du Vieux-Montréal.

    • January 22, 2013 6:30 pm

      Four times. Ouf! I’m nauseous just thinking about it! Glad I started small😉

Leave a Reply

