Skip to content

First Time for Everything :: Il y a toujours une première fois, pour tout

September 24, 2012

The Urban Sketchers of Montreal gathered together for the first time at the Jean Talon Market in Montreal. It was also my first time that I sketched with this group, and it was quite invigorating, temperature-wise and crowd-wise, to say the least. I had never painted in a market and it was overwhelming as there were so many distractions, and to be able to choose your subject, let alone how many fruits to paint, was a bit daunting. But by my second sketch in the day, which I will post at a later date, I had zoomed into the subject, concentrating on certain aspects of the colourful landscape in front of me.

Dimanche à 9h30 les Sketchers urbains de Montréal se sont rencontrés pour la première fois au Marché Jean Talon de Montréal. Nous étions neuf, tous contents d’être là. Peindre seule dans une foule est difficile, mais peindre avec neuf autres personnes rend la chose “normale”, car on se dégêne assez vite. La prochaine sortie se tiendra au Carré Dorchester, à côté de la cathédrale à 9h30 le dimanche 28 octobre.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2012 2:43 pm

    Hey, great job – I didn’t end up seeing it all together at the end (what with us scurrying to get out of the cold🙂 A terrific challenge getting all that into the frame!

    • September 25, 2012 7:54 pm

      Thank you Mark and I really struggled. Getting used to this busy environment and a new type of paper. Not my best one, and I need more practice😉

  2. Francine Bidal-St-Auibn permalink
    September 29, 2012 3:04 pm

    Hi Jane!
    The sketch looks great. Found out last week that Curry’s closed down on the South Shore so I guess you will now have to go to Ottawa . Looking forward to seeing you again.

    • September 29, 2012 10:48 pm

      Hi Francine,

      well that means that we will be going to Ottawa then… in a way I am glad as I love that city😉 And thank you for your comments on the sketch, even though there is much much much room for improvement — LOL

      • October 1, 2012 10:03 am

        well! I was looking forward to having a Curry’s near by🙂 Oh well. If you go to Ottawa – it’s touristy, but I was surprised how much great stuff there was at the Parliament buildings. Carvings and decor on every surface!

Leave a Reply

